Announcements‎ > ‎

Councilmember Palmer and Partners to Provide Emergency Food, Water, and Tarp Distribution Today in Algiers

posted Aug 31, 2021, 8:08 AM by Algiers Neighborhood Presidents Council   [ updated Aug 31, 2021, 8:10 AM ]
August 31, 2021
Councilmember Palmer and Partners to Provide Emergency Food, Water, and Tarp Distribution Today in Algiers 
NEW ORLEANS - District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer has partnered with NOLA Ready, Second Harvest Food Bank, World Central Kitchen, and Culture Aid NOLA to distribute food and water for residents impacted by Hurricane Ida. The emergency distribution site will provide meals, water, tarps, and electrical charging stations at Arthur Monday Center, 1111 Newton Street from 1 PM to 5 PM on Tuesday, August 31. No documentation is required to receive supplies or to utilize the charging stations. 

Hurricane Ida left the entire city without power. While many essential businesses remain closed, Councilmember Palmer hopes the distribution site will provide some relief to families and individuals who are reeling from the impacts of the storm.  In order to operate the site, volunteers are needed to assist with setup and distribution. If you would like to volunteer, call Zach Monroe at (504) 508-0783.  

WHAT: Hurricane Ida Emergency Distribution Site

WHEN: Tuesday, August 31, 1 PM to 5 PM

WHERE: Arthur Monday Center, 1111 Newton St., New Orleans, LA 70114

Media Contact:
Tiffaney Bradley
Director of Communications and Special Projects 
District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer
New Orleans City Council 
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans City government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two Councilmembers-at-Large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno, Council Vice President and interim Councilmember-At-Large Donna Glapion, District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso, District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks, District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer, District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett, and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.